## THE HONG KONG SHIPOWNERS ASSOCIATION LTD.



12<sup>th</sup> Floor, Queen's Centre, 58 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong Tel: (852) 2520 0206 Fax: (852) 2529 8246 E-Mail: hksoa@hksoa.org.hk www.hksoa.org.hk

## **Press Release**

For immediate release 25<sup>th</sup> November 2011

Alan Tung of Island Navigation elected new Chairman of Hong Kong Shipowners Association

At the 55<sup>th</sup> Hong Kong Shipowners Association Annual General Meeting, held last night, Mr. Alan Tung of Island Navigation Corporation International Ltd was elected Chairman of the Association. Mr. Tung succeeds Mr. Kenneth Koo of Tai Chong Cheang Steamship Co (HK) Ltd, who had completed his two years as Chairman.

Mr. Kingsley Koo of Valles Steamship Co Ltd was elected Deputy Chairman. Mr. Sham Chellaram of KC Maritime Ltd was re-elected and Mr. Zhang Liang of COSCO (Hong Kong) Group Ltd was elected as Ordinary Member Vice Chairmen and Mr. Alastair MacAulay of JSM was re-elected as Associate Member Vice Chairman.

The Association accounts for 2010/11, which showed a small surplus for the year, were approved. In order to increase the resources available to the secretariat, the meeting approved the recommendation of the Committee that there should be a 12% increase in subscriptions from 1<sup>st</sup> April 2012.

Mr. Koo, the outgoing Chairman, personally thanked all members for their loyalty to the Association and for their friendship. He especially thanked his fellow Committee members and the members of the Sub-committees and working groups for their generosity and hard work. He also praised the loyal and hard-working secretariat.

After taking over the meeting as incoming Chairman, Mr. Tung said "I know I am speaking on behalf of all members when extending my sincere congratulations to Mr. Kenneth Koo on his highly successful and energetic two years of distinguished service as Chairman." He went on to remark that despite a hectic work schedule and other commitments, Mr. Koo had enthusiastically promoted the Association and Hong Kong's maritime sector within Hong Kong, in the mainland and internationally.

In his address to members, the incoming Chairman thanked Mr. Wang Futian, Mr. Rajaish Bajpaee, Mr. Robert Grool, Mr. Huang Shaojie, Mr. Harry Banga and Mr. Raymond Wong, all of whom retired from the Committee, for their dedication to the Committee and to the Association.

The list of Committee members elected for the period 2012/13 is attached. For more information, please contact the Managing Director of the Association, Arthur Bowring, at tel: 2520 0206 or e-mail <a href="https://linear.com/hksoa.org">hksoa@hksoa.org</a>. The Chairman's Annual Report and the Association Annual Review, both presented to the members at the AGM, will shortly be available for download from the Association's website at <a href="https://www.hksoa.org">www.hksoa.org</a>.